Q. I sometimes feel that I am losing my

Q. I sometimes feel that I am losing my mind. What can I do to feel better?

A. Do you happen to know what you are and what your mind is when you feel that you are losing your mind? Do you happen to know how you are different from your mind? Your problem, like others’, is that you don’t know who is losing what or what is happening, although you feel that you are losing your mind.

What is the mind that you feel you are losing? The thought that you feel that you are losing your mind is none other than the action of your mind. Above all, observe carefully how you are losing your mind. Try to know clearly either what you are, or what your mind is. In the course of observing, you will feel much better, and you will get permanent happiness if you come to realise clearly either you or your mind.

017_8715a_thumb

 

Student: “I feel that I am losing my mind. What shall I do in order not to lose my mind?”
Master: “Hold it firmly.”
Student: “How can I hold it firmly?”
Master: “Let go of it.”
Student: “How can I let go of it?”
Master: “Are you holding it now?”
Student: “No, I am not. I don’t know how to hold it.”
Master: “If you are not holding it now, you already let go of it. Your problem is not knowing what you feel you are losing.”

©Boo Ahm
All writing ©Boo Ahm. All images ©Simon Hathaway http://ow.ly/i/vB4KW

Leave a Reply

